The Fourth Times a Charm

When I was pregnant with my first baby, I didn’t show for a long, long time.

I was way smaller than anyone else who was pregnant at the same time.

Including women who were due after me.

Including all the first time Moms that I knew.

I just didn’t show much. I could wear regular clothes for a long time. I got on a plane when I was 8 months pregnant and no one even asked me how far along I was. I had someone guess that I was pregnant when I was almost 9 months along, just because I was waddling instead of walking.

I knew it wouldn’t last. Of course, I secretly hoped it would, but I knew it wouldn’t. Also during that first pregnancy, when I was only about 5 months along, I was visiting some friends of my parents. The hostess had just found out she was expecting. She was still in her 1st trimester and was complaining about gaining weight and needing to wear maternity clothes already. It was a bit shocking to me, since I was a good 2-3 months ahead of her and she was showing more than I was.

But, (and here’s the but) she was expecting her fourth child. So my natural conclusion was, that will be me someday. I’ve got it good now, but it won’t last forever.

Every pregnancy since, I’ve “showed” a little sooner. I remember when I was pregnant with my second son, about five months along, still wearing regular clothes, mind you, and a girl in security at the airport exclaimed, “You’re pregnant, aren’t you?” (At least I was!)

So in the back of my mind, I always expected that for the fourth baby, all bets were off. I was going to “show” early this time. And now that I’m eating better and gradually regaining my strength, I’ve kind of been expecting that, any day now, I’d suddenly gain 10 pounds and really look pregnant.

When I woke up this morning, however, I was a bit unprepared for this:

Photobucket
Hello, Baby!

(Maternity shirt courtesy of my favorite cousin named Sarah.)

7 Comments

Filed under I confess, She's having a baby, That was fun, Why does no one get my jokes?

7 responses to “The Fourth Times a Charm

  1. Esther

    Wow! How far along are you again? Cute shirt.

    I love the French posters on the walls. We still need to hang pictures and we’ve been here for 4-1/2 months now.

  2. Jessica

    You look adorable! There’s really nothing cuter than a precious baby bump…and you’ve definitely got it now! No, you don’t look like you’re just beginning your second trimester. Must be because it’s #4.

  3. Abigail

    Are you absolutely sure that there isn’t a pillow under there too? Wow! No offense intended, you do look really, really good. Like one of those cute pregnant ladies with a soccer ball under her shirt. πŸ™‚ See, I thought that you just carried your babies small, almost like a genetic thing or something, because I’m the same way. Oh well, maybe you will be able to breath better this time!!

  4. Wow, You’re almost bigger than I am and I’m 26 weeks! Of course it must be the 4th child.

  5. awww! You look adorable! I want to see more pictures! πŸ™‚

  6. Colleen

    Wow! Are you sure there’s only one in there? πŸ™‚ Seriously though, you look beautiful.

  7. Patti

    Okay if there is no pillow in their then you have got to be having two! I have to say you do look radiant! Better then I do at 4 months!

Leave a Reply

