I couldn’t resist my favorite flower.

Photobucket

7 Comments

Filed under Forgive me for being sentimental

7 responses to “I couldn’t resist my favorite flower.

  1. Esther

    I love tulips, too. And daffodils. And I take pictures of them almost every time we have any in the house. I just finally threw out some extremely wilted daffodils this evening.

  2. redchampagne

    Yeah, nothing says “spring” like daffodils.

    I also like pansies, though Colleen used to make fun of me for it.

    Did you read that post on Oh Happy Day about how it’s wrong to hate on carnations nowadays? I still think they look like dandelions though.

  3. Colleen

    I have no recollection of that, your Honor. Not denying it, just not remembering it. 🙂

    The flower itself is pretty, it’s just its name that makes it a target for ridicule. Poor flower.

    But I agree, tulips and daffodils are beautiful. Although I wonder if I like them as much for the association with the arrival of spring as I do their actual appearance.

  4. redchampagne

    Yeah, I think you were making fun of the name, more than the flower. I still think they’re pretty.

    It is nice to see bulbs popping up through the snow in the spring, but I’ve always liked tulips for some reason.

    I’ve been wanting to buy myself an orchid for a long time now, but (besides the fact that we keep moving) I’m afraid I’ll kill it. I have some pretty black thumbs. Which is especially alarming since my parents and grandparents and siblings(!) all have pretty green ones. Maybe for my birthday.

  5. Colleen

    A green thumb for your birthday?

    Huh. That does sound like a good gift.

  6. Esther

    I have an orchid. It’s my second. I killed the first. But before it died, I was very careful about watering it once a week like you’re supposed to. I had it over a year and it never bloomed. Then I went to the UK for three weeks and left it in the care of a sister of mine, who promptly forgot all about it and didn’t water it once. When I got back, it was blooming!

    Maybe neglect is a good thing, sometimes.

  7. redchampagne

    “Huh. That does sound like a good gift.”

    Yeah, well, I guess you always want what you don’t have. 🙂

    “Maybe neglect is a good thing, sometimes.”

    This gives me hope. I’m really good with the neglect thing. 🙂 The problem is probably when I try to compensate for the neglect.

Leave a Reply

