Bigger by the week

I had an idea for a blog post about three weeks ago.

I even took pictures for it.

And then…

then I got lazy busy. (That’s it. I was busy. That sounds so much better than lazy.) I still have the pictures, but they’re kind of out of date now.

See, I saw this book at the library.

Photobucket

I got it just to see if it had any new insights into my pregnancy and turned to my week, which was 21 weeks at the time.

I was hoping to see: “You will finally feel good at 22 weeks. Hang in there! Just a few more days to go.

Instead I saw this:

Photobucket

Did you see that?

It would be hard to hide your condition!

Photobucket

And then I looked in the mirror and thought,

Photobucket

Really?

Strangers would dare ask me if I’m pregnant?

And they wouldn’t worry about me biting their heads off or running out of the store crying?

Photobucket

I guess I find that hard to believe. (Even without the over-sized sweatshirt.)

But now that I’m sliding into 24 weeks, none of this applies anymore.

Photobucket

At 23 weeks and a handful of days, I think it’s safe to say that I’m showing.

15 Comments

Filed under She's having a baby

15 responses to “Bigger by the week

  1. Esther

    Hmm. I think you’re showing about as much as my overindulgence in Easter candy is showing….

    You are still so amazingly not pregnant looking! C’mon, now, is there really a baby in there?? 🙂

  2. You look great! Seriously, I’m jealous. And I’m not even a little bit pregnant.

    As for the book, I’m not sure that any pregnant woman really wants to read, “Your waistline is definitely gone,” whether or not it is true for her.

  3. Abigail

    Yeah, um, “showing” is not really the word for it. But whatever makes you feel better… Me, on the other hand (according to my husband), look as big as I did at nine months with Elijah. I don’t think that’s a compliment, although, I never got all the big with him.

  4. redchampagne

    You guys really know how to flatter a girl.

    But really, I’m not showing?

    I feel big. I can’t bend at the waist much.

    I think part of it is that I don’t get that cute little pregnant basketball belly. I just sort of expand from the pelvis to the ribcage outward. Like I stuffed a shirt box under my top.

    It’s true, no one has asked me if I’m pregnant, but then, who doesn’t know they’re not supposed to do that!

    I asked Mr. F if he thinks I looks like I’m pregnant and he said, “Sometimes, sometimes not.”

    I do know I’m pregnant, b/c if I wasn’t pregnant I’d have some sort kicking tumor that makes me very, very, VERY sick. And causes lots of ligament pain and heartburn.

    I’m going to a wedding this weekend, so I’ll see if I can get some really pregnant looking photos. Maybe I should do a survey.

  5. redchampagne

    I just thought of something else. I might look a little different than I did with my third pregnancy, b/c I remember when I went back to work at around 20-21 weeks, someone (who hadn’t seen me since I was 6 weeks pregnant) said that I didn’t really look pregnant, except around the face.

    Wow, just where I was hoping to gain some weight, thanks.

  6. Anne

    Ok, so maybe I should post MY 22/23 week pregnant pictures…shall we compare? Oh yes, lets. You are pregnant with your 4th child and due 1 week (to the day) ahead of me…I, on the other hand, am pregnant with my 2nd child and yes, due 1 week after you. Who looks more pregnant???

  7. Those pregnancy books/ guides are so annoying. They say things like “your morning sickness is probably starting to subside now.” YEAH RIGHT!

    Anyway, you do look really cute…you could probably make it through your pregnancy without any maternity shirts.

  8. Yeah, “showing around the face” is not exactly what I’d call tactful.

    Don’t feel bad as far as showing v. not showing. I was the size of a quaint bungalow during both of my pregnancies. When I was pregnant with my first, people were making comments like, “Oh, looks like you’re about to have that baby any day!” when I was FIVE MONTHS ALONG. So just about anyone looks tiny to me. I have Fat Cow pregnancies.

    I would love to see a showdown of pregnant women photos though. 😀

  9. redchampagne

    Yeah! The pregnant lady showdown!

    I’ve actually taken more photos of myself for this current pregnancy than all of the other pregnancies combined.

    So that means I don’t have much to compare it to either.

    Anne sent me her pictures so I’ll try to get them on, if I can figure out how.

  10. redchampagne

    Anne’s photo:

  11. Mr. French

    A fervent, daily paradox with no resolution until the birth:

    If I am pregnant and do not show …

    “What’s wrong with me!?”

    If I am pregnant and do show …

    “I look too fat!!”

  12. Patti

    maybe I should send you a pic of my last pregnancy. 🙂 I was not to big with the third but the fourth was another matter. I had people asking me when I was 4 months along “when are you due? You look like you could pop anyday!!!” ho hum…..

  13. I am so happy for you! I am sure everyone there are overjoyed!

    Kathryn~

  14. I am so happy for you! I am sure everyone there is overjoyed.

    Kathryn~

  15. Pingback: Shall we talk about how much bigger one gets with the 5th pregnancy compared to the 1st? | Can moving be a hobby?

Leave a Reply

