I wasn’t feeling old until he said that.

My birthday is this week.

I don’t usually get too excited about it.

And being a year older doesn’t bother me, yet.

Pregnancy has a way of making me feel older than I am, though. ‘Slow and tired’ does not spell ‘youthfulness’ in my book. But I wasn’t feeling too bad about the prospect of being 31.

Until the other day.

The boys were playing in the living room with a bunch of new toys (read: junk) they “won” at a math carnival. S had a man-sitting-on-a-motorcycle toy.

“Hey C, look at my man! He’s old! He’s…he’s…” he pauses as he obviously tried to think up a really old age….

“He’s thirty!”

2 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, She's having a baby

2 responses to “I wasn’t feeling old until he said that.

  1. Anne

    Well, if it’s any consolation to you, I used to think 30 was old too…probably when I was your kids’ age, but fortunately, through age and wisdom, I’ve come to realize that 30 isn’t old (especially since I’m only 3+ years from it!), but it IS fun to tease my hubby and sister who just recently turned 30. I don’t even consider my parents old anymore (64 & 58 respectively). My great aunt was old…she passed away at 102. 🙂 As far as I’m concerned, you’ve got at least 60-70 more years to go before you are OLD. 🙂 Hope you have a happy birthday, regardless of what your children say. 🙂

  2. redchampagne

    Yeah. I was tempted to remind him how old his father is but I decided anything over thirty sounds old at that age and wouldn’t have made any difference. 🙂

    I don’t think my parents are old anymore either. Nor do I think my grandmothers are old. I think they have more energy than I do (compared to my pregnant state).

Leave a Reply

