And the Worst Blogger of the month award goes to….

Finally!

A contest I could win.

I know it’s bad when even Mr. French complains about the lack of posts.

I do appreciate the comments though. It simultaneously encourages me to post and makes me feel really quilty for not posting. Both are quite motivating.

I have my excuses, of course. There’s the whole-I’m-pregnant excuse. I can only use that for another 4 weeks or so, though. Then, there’s the fact that I got a really, really bad splinter.

Stop laughing, it’s true. It was really deep too. And it took a while to get it out. I’m just saying, typing isn’t easy when you’re digging into your finger with a pin and tweezers.

Okay, if that’s not good enough, I cut my finger. Pretty bad. Or so I thought. The very next day, using the very same knife, chopping vegetables on the very same cutting board I sliced into the digit just next to what I thought was a really badly cut finger. Except this time, ten times worse! It was the kind of cut that you stare at in disbelief because you can’t believe you just did that!

I told Mr. French about it on the phone and he was sympathetic. Later though, when I showed it to him he almost had a cow and thought I should’ve gotten stitches. Maybe I should have but by then it was too late. And now it’s pretty much healed. (As an aside, I think there was some nerve damage because it doesn’t feel quite the same.)

I think that’s enough excuses.

For now, at least.

So here’s the plan for next week: I’m going to post everyday three days and see if I can’t get back into the habit. That will be a good lead-up to the baby too. There’s been some requests for baby belly shots again. I think I can safely do that now, since everyone asks when I’m due that I’m pretty sure I’m showing. I’ll let you decide though.

5 Comments

Filed under Mr. French, She's having a baby, Why does no one get my jokes?

5 responses to “And the Worst Blogger of the month award goes to….

  1. Evan just got stitches out of his finger. He cut his finger to the bone attempting to slice jicama. I thought he was making a p.b. &j. sandwich. I’m very thankful that he didn’t cut his finger worse. He’s back to playing piano with both hands and seems none the worse for the wear and tear. You people need to be more careful!!! 🙂

    In the last weeks of my fourth pregnancy, I choked on water several times. It was like “things” (the scientific term) loosened up even in my throat and liquid kept going down the wrong way. Weird. Have you had anything happen like that?

    I’m looking forward to your three posts next week!

  2. Anne

    Wow. You have been busy. Splinters and cut fingers? I can sympathize with the splinters…I can’t remember the last time I cut my finger, but I do remember when I shut it (I still claim the door was shut by someone else, but that’s a whole different story) in my future in-laws van door at the airport when we were picking M up. Yeah, they all told me I should get stitches, but I didn’t want to. We waited until the next day and M forced me to go to an Urgent Care clinic…they said the same thing, but since it was too late, I got my way and didn’t have to get stitches. I do however have a slightly mishapen finger now with not as much feeling in it as my other 9. But at least I didn’t have to get stitches!!! 😉

  3. redchampagne

    Ohhhh, you just sent shivers down my spine with that “to the bone” comment. I would kind of like to blame my cuts on the pregnancy and it seems to make sense. I’m slower, can’t get my finger out of the way. Yeah, I think that makes sense. I haven’t choked on water yet, but 4 weeks is a enough time to try something new.

    Anne, that’s exactly how my finger looks. A little misshapen with not quite as much feeling as the others. I was just glad it healed pretty fast and didn’t get infected or something like that.

  4. Alyssa

    Congratulations on winning that contest!

    I am glad you’re back though and I am looking forward to seeing belly shots. I forget what it’s like to be pregnant!?! Is that normal??

    Well, I think I have an email sitting somewhere waiting to be sent to you… I’ll see what I can do!

    ME: I remember forgetting pretty fast with the first one. The second I got pregnant again though, I remembered it all instantly. Even now, when I’m still pregnant, but no longer so horribly sick, I’ll suddenly remember how sick I used to be. I like to think of it as a coping mechanism.

  5. Ouch! I’m wincing, here. (Wincing in sympathy.)

    I was beginning to wonder if you had abandoned your blog. Glad to see you posting again; if I notice weird, random letters showing up throughout your posts, should I just assume it was just caused by some sort of uncontrollable finger spasm?

    ME: If only I’d thought of that!

Leave a Reply

