An update (With no witty title that only vaguely portrays the contents of the post. I know! So strange!)

I thought I’d give you a little update about our “move”. 

First of all, I’ve been trying to pretend it’s not really a move, just a “move” so that it didn’t feel quite so overwheming, but I think I’ve failed. We moved. Yes, we did. And we had to change our address and everything.

But, yet, we didn’t move. Because, hello! My red Kitchenaide mixer is still in my house! As well as my favorite bed and bedding. And for that matter, both of my couches. And I like them both. And miss them a little. But we see each other on the weekends and I’m sure it will work out.  Long distance relationships are notorious for being easy and long-lasting, right? 

The other thing about this particular move, where we split our things between two places and go between them weekly, is that it’s… awk-ward.

That’s it. Awkward. And a little bit hard.

It’s like wearing a giant blueberry suit and trying to walk around and find stuff. In the new house, everything is in a new place. I end up walking all over the place trying to find my clothes and forgetting which drawer I keep the knives in. At the old place, I know exactly which drawer my knives are in but then realize, upon opening it, that “Oh yeah, I took them to the other house”.

Okay, it’s also kind of annoying too.

Every week, we say to ourselves, It’s going to get easier, right? It’s not always going to be this hard, is it?

Also, in order to save money, we’ve canceled our internet and trash at the old place. (Actually we’ve just canceled our trash pick-up. If I could find a way to cancel our trash accumulation, I would totally patent the idea and sell it and then I would stop moving permanently.) (Okay, on second thought, I would probably not stop moving. But I would just get all new stuff in the next place and then it would be fun to move. Kind of like a vacation. But waaaay better.)

So, where was I? Oh, yes, picking up my own trash and not surfing the internet. Or blogging. Or e-mailing. Or anything to do with the World Wide Web on the Weekends. I think it will all be fine once we get used it. If we get used to it.

And don’t get me started on how I’ve only had the same vegetable peeler for the last 9 years and now I need another one even though the 9-year-old one works just fine!

You might also be thinking that this move is tad bit boring. 

It’s always the little things that get you though, isn’t it? Do you know how many vegetable peelers there are to choose from? They even have a monk- Oh, wait, you were being sarcastic when you said that, weren’t you?

So, in light of all that, I thought I should highlight some of the benefits.

Yes, the  b e n e f i t s  of moving to a new place.

So, depending on the number of green lights, we’re a 1 minute, 30 second car ride from Target, Meijers, Kohls, Barnes&Noble, Home Depot, and I can’t even remember the rest of the stores. And half of that time is just getting out of the neighborhood. We’re about 3 minutes from Borders (I know!), Panera Bread, and many other restaurants that we will probably never try but it’s just nice to know they’re there, dontchathink?

Mr. French is 16 minutes from work.

We’re less than ten minutes from Krogers, CVS, and our bank. 

But here is the best part. It’ll take me about 20 minutes to walk to Trader Joe’s. Walk to Trader Joes! That’s like France, or at least, Boston. That doesn’t happen in O-hi-o.

That’s a big plus since we’re down to one car again, too.

Also there’s a neighborhood cat that absolutely loves our house is constantly hanging around outside, trying to get in whenever the door opens. Wait. Scratch that. Wrong list.

The biggest benefit is that we have a job. And in light of everything else, we’re very blessed. Even if vegetable peelers are a lot more expensive than they used to be.

2 Comments

Filed under Moving is my hobby

2 responses to “An update (With no witty title that only vaguely portrays the contents of the post. I know! So strange!)

  1. kathy

    And I think my life is complicated! You definitely have me beat. I must say, tho, that your commute to your “home” is slightly quicker than ours. The girls (and I) certainly envy you that! I believe God has given you special grace to do what you do. Keep on going with Him.

  2. Julie

    You have to be thinking, what next? It is a good thing you know God has a plan.

    Shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil?

    I know, O Lord, that thy judgments are right, and that thou in faithfulness hast afflicted me.

    O Lord, thou our father: we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand.

    It is the Lord: let him do what seemeth him good.

    I am quoting from my favorite daily light, for 2/24, evening. There is more, but no need to be too intense… (lol, cause we all know I am anyway!)

    I love you dear family, and we will pray for God’s continued provision, and care in this trial you face. You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

