This could’ve been 7 different posts

But then you probably wouldn’t be reading this.

1) Mr. French is a year older (in March, sorry).

You know you’re an adult if you prefer the taste of your cake over and above the theme.

Double chocolate torte

Or if Eggs Benedict and roasted asparagus were on the birthday menu.

Eggs with a side of butter, cream, and bacon.

You also know you’re getting old if your kids think your party was boring.

“That’s it? No games?” “All you got was books?!”

2) The boys laugh at Felicity when she cries.

Specifically, when she cries about something “little” and “stupid”.

Because “she cries like a girl.”

And I let them.

Because, really? She does.

And her brothers pretty much think she’s the best thing since legos were invented.

So, I think she’ll live.

3) The boys got Felicity a baby doll when she was born. Which was very sweet of them. But it’s a little annoying how they refer to it.

In a baby voice, to their baby sister, they say things like, “Do you want me to get your daughter for you?”

Eh. I guess I’ll live.

4) Felicity is crawling, climbing, and trying to stand, Oh my!

She is not, however, eating.

Paper and dog food, Yes.

Cereal, bananas, rice, or peas? No.

Perhaps when her teeth come in.

5) She has never met a stranger she thought was worth smiling for.

Sorry to all the cashiers, police officers (who spoke in a Donald Duck voice!), neighbors, friends at church, and other people at the store.

You are not worthy.

In other news, she will go to her father now, which he is milking for all it’s worth.

Of course, her brothers can still make her laugh like no one else.

6) Molly is now an “inside” dog (during the week anyway).

I’m not really sure how it happened.

One day she was outside.

Then it started raining and the next thing I knew, Molly is inside whenever she wants.

She’s a good dog though.

OK, fiiiine. She’s starting to grow on me, alright? I said it.

7) Speaking of good dogs. We were trying to teach Felicity to pet the doggy nicely.

She may or may not have taken that opportunity to pull out a handful of copper fur.

And now, if Felicity gets within a foot, Molly calmly moves about three feet away.

Can’t say I blame her.

4 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, Girls are not boys, Mr. French, That was fun, The Dog

4 responses to “This could’ve been 7 different posts

  1. Rebekah

    I don’t think you can beat a chocolate raspberry theme for a birthday. What is that dessert? Will you share the recipe?

  2. redchampagne

    Sure. I was going to link to it but I was in a hurry when I posted.

    I found it by way of this website: http://letjoyresound.blogspot.com/2007/05/cakeness.html (you probably recognize her husband.)

    The recipe is originally from: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Double-Chocolate-Torte-104512

    It’s a little more involved than a cheesecake, but not too much.

  3. First, let me say that your cake and breakfast looked wonderful! Second, this is super funny! My son is 15 months old and I still can’t teach him how to pet the dog nicely….however, your dog is smarter than mine…..your dog moves, mine just screams when Sawyer pinches him as hard as he can! And I know what you mean about not eating….I finally gave up on all the mushy foods and baby foods…..he wanted to be a big boy and eat our food, so I just cut it all up in super small pieces so he could gum it and then swallow it without choking! I can’t wait to have my little girl to see if she is a little drama queen and cries like a girl. We’ll see just how different boys and girls really are! =)

  4. redchampagne

    Today was actually the first day she seemed to take some food. And of course it’s not mushy or on a spoon! We shall see.

    I didn’t really notice a big difference between having a boy vs. a girl until later. She does seem to have a much higher pitch though.

Leave a Reply

