The proof is in the bananas

I wasn’t kidding when I said I hate bananas. And that I always have. My Mom says it was that way from the beginning.

I can remember leaving a banana that she had sent to school with me in my bag until it became a mushy brown disgustingly sweet mess at the bottom. When she found it after a week, I think she finally realized that I was never going to voluntarily eat one.

Of course, that didn’t stop me from feeding them to my kids. And they’ve all liked them. I think it’s my husband’s favorite fruit. And my youngest son claims he likes monkeys because “you know why? Tus monkeys like bananas and so do I.” (And here I was thinking it was because he acted like a monkey.)

The point is, I buy bananas by the dozen on a weekly basis and have not even told my kids I don’t like bananas so as to not influence them negatively.

I’ve been working harder this week at trying more solid food with Miss F. And she’s been less than enthusiastic. Though she did start eating those weird little puffed sweet potatoed thingies, so there’s that. After a few days of those I decided to smash up a banana again and see if she would eat it.

I scooped some up with a spoon and gave her a little taste.

She made a face.

Then she made a sound not unlike a gag.

And then she spit it out.

Fine. Whatever. It was only her fourth try. She might come around, right?

Later, as I was cleaning up, I decided to give it one more try before throwing it out.

I held the spoon up to her lips, which she pursed tightly shut.

And then…

she shuddered.

And I felt just a little bit proud.

Because she doesn’t really look like me.

Her hair is straight and light colored.

Her eyes are dark brown like her father’s.

Everyone thinks she looks like her brothers.

But hating bananas?

That’s all me.

 

edited to note: Thank you for no one mentioning that HUGE mispelling (that I’ve since corrected). I was sitting down to lunch when I realized I’d mispelled it. I shudder to think what would have happened had I left it.

8 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, Girls are not boys, I confess

8 responses to “The proof is in the bananas

  1. Jan

    For me it was beets, and I didn’t even have the courage to try them on my kids. I salute you!

  2. The Woman with the Yellow Hat

    Wait–you went to school? In IL? 🙂 Curious likes only slightly green bananas like me. We get rid of the too mushy in non-fancy smoothies.

  3. Anne

    Well, at least you’ve passed something on to your children (or at least one of them! ;)). I found that T is like me in only way: he does not like to wear shoes and socks. We both want them off as soon as possible. MJB on the other hand wears shoes ALL THE TIME. I think he’d wear them to bed, if I’d let him. I have to draw the line somewhere. And hats off to you for still giving your kids bananas; in our house it’s peas. Neither MJB or I care for them, but both T & B LOVE them.

    • redchampagne

      Jan: I can certainly understand not fixing something that you don’t like for your kids. At least I don’t have to cook bananas.

      TWYH: Yes, I went to “real school” for three years in IL.

      Anne: At least your kids know what peas are, when neither of you like the. And I love being barefoot. I would be all the time if it weren’t for having wood floors now. It’s not the cold so much as the dirt. I guess “the maid” doesn’t mop often enough around here.

      • Anne

        I agree. This is why I resort to wearing flipflops in the house. Still barefoot, for the most part, but not having to feel all the um, particles under my feet. I don’t think that maid gets paid enough, she definitely needs to sweep more than she does. After all, with a big dog and 2 little kids, you’d think she’d realize all the bibits (my mom’s word) that are all over the floor.

  4. I’m with you on the banana hate. I’ve never liked them either. Including banana-flavored things like gum, candy and popsicles.

    I also hate vegetables, which my son won’t try, but my daughter loves. She once asked for corn and broccoli for supper. No meat or rice or pasta. Just those two vegetables.

    • redchampagne

      Ewww. Banana-flavored popsicles are really gross.

      You know, the funny thing is, I really thought I was the only one who didn’t like bananas. It seems like everyone I know likes them. But it’s nice to know I’m not alone.

  5. Pingback: Kids: they make you liars « Can moving be a hobby?

Leave a Reply

