I’m usually not this dense

So, around last January I had to go buy new jeans for S, as he suddenly had about 5 pairs of capri pants and for some reason, he actually knew this wasn’t the current fashion and didn’t want to wear them anymore. (Not that I blame him.)

Within weeks, there were holes starting in those jeans and I almost couldn’t believe it. But you know, we are talking about boys.

Unfortunately, the jeans did not patch themselves no matter how much I begged, and to add insult to injury, the holes kept getting bigger.

I know! I couldn’t figure it out either.

No, seriously. I couldn’t figure out what had changed. And by now, every single pair of jeans or pants that the two older boys owned had at least one holey knee, but usually both. 

Then about a month ago, I was sitting on the couch, nursing the baby after dinner one night and it finally dawned on my little pea brain how exactly the boys destroyed their jeans so very quickly.

 

 
Seriously. I’m usually fairly observant.

4 Comments

Filed under Boys will be boys, I confess

4 responses to “I’m usually not this dense

  1. Crafty Mom

    All I can say is, “OUCH!” Do they have bruised shins? I remember when a certain little girl would slide down our steps head first (on purpose). But on their knees? You know, if you gave them one of those plastic tobogans their pants would last longer, and they could go even faster!

  2. redchampagne

    They don’t seem to bruise. At the other house (where there’s no carpet) they use pillows and blankets.

  3. Anne

    I guess I should be thankful we don’t have stairs (except down to the basement) in our house. But hey, at least they’ve found something to occupy their time, right? They could be building rubber band guns and shooting them at you, so this is the lesser of 2 evils, is it not?? 🙂

  4. Snort. Yep, that’d definitely put some wear in the knees. Maybe you should get preemptive and iron patches onto brand new jeans.

    If it makes you feel any better, my son gets holes in the knees of his jeans after wearing them about 1.5 times. And he doesn’t do the slide-down-the-stairs thing your boys do (we don’t have stairs), so heaven knows how he accomplishes this in such a short period of time. Good thing we live in Texas and wear shorts most of the year.

    Anyway. Boys–gotta love ’em. And groan and roll your eyes and sigh a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

