Orange you glad it’s not your birthday cake?

If you can’t guess, J’s favorite animal is a monkey.

His favorite color is orange.

When it’s not yellow and green, that is.

Orange you glad you're not a monkey?

He wanted a monkey cake, but he does not like chocolate so we decided an orange monkey would be perfect.

He seems okay with it.

I think he was okay with it. In his reserved sort of way.

Blowing out the candles

Blowing out five candles in only two takes.

present opening

I didn’t get any good pictures of the present opening because the light is generally bad in this house.

I was teasing J about forgetting to buy him any presents and he said something like, “Oh Mom. Next time, don’t forget!” As if, I blew it for his 5th birthday but by his 6th he wanted at least one present.

How did I get such laid-back kids?

the much-requested Curious george lunch box

This is his new Curious George lunchbox.

Not that he needed a lunchbox. But it was such a requested item that I gave in.

Special guests

We were also graced with the presence of one of their cousins, coming through with his fiance, on their way to North Carolina to get married.

I don't care if he is my cousin, I'm not going to sit on his lap.

And here is Felicity, proving that she is nothing but steadfast in her rule of not sitting on anyone’s lap unless she sees them every.single.day.

“I don’t care if he is my cousin, I’m not sitting on his lap.

And you can put that on the blog!”

4 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, Boys will be boys, Forgive me for being sentimental

4 responses to “Orange you glad it’s not your birthday cake?

  1. The Woman with the Yellow Hat

    Wahoo–thks for the idea! I’m sure that a monkey cake is in our future! BTW, have made major headway in the CG rm this week!

  2. redchampagne

    Yeah, definitely. It was very easy too.

  3. Haha I love the monkey cake!!! You did a fantastic job on it! You are always so creative when it comes to food! 🙂 Tell Jonathon that I love monkeys too! 🙂 Hope everything is well!

  4. Pingback: Kids: they make you liars 2.0 « Can moving be a hobby?

Leave a Reply

