Yesterday

Yesterday was the conclusion of Operation: Paint the House.

And by “House”, I mean the entryway, hallways, living room, and around the window in the dining room. (Oh! and the laundry room door. Don’t forget that.)

Everyday, during naptime, late at night, early in the morning, just painting. Or getting ready to paint. Which, frankly, takes as long as painting does.

We’re getting crown molding put up and when I realized that if I could paint everything in a week, I wouldn’t have to tape at the top. So, I planned the operation. And I thought, it’ll be tough, but it’s totally doable.

Until I started. And then I thought, this is crazy.

It’s like having a baby. Before you get pregnant, you think it’ll be hard but survivable. In the middle, you’re pretty sure you’re going to die. Then you’re holding that sweet bundle of gurgling baby fat* and you’re pretty sure you’d do it again in an instant (or a year or two). By the time the kid’s walking, you’re convinced you made the whole nauseous thing up.

And no, this is not some back-handed baby announcement, although you know I’m not above that kind of thing. It’s just that I seem to compare everything to childbirth.

I thought you said it wasn't white?

So here’s your assignment:

If you could paint your living room any color (husband, toddlers, and rental notwithstanding), any color at all, what color would you paint it?

Now, who else would show you the ugly primed walls?

And, more importantly, what do you think we just painted our living room? (that’s the hallway, by the way.)

I’ll give you a hint: It’s not beige or white. Or black. (I’m so helpful!)

*You’re welcome!

8 Comments

Filed under Everyone's an interior designer, Moving is my hobby, She's having a baby, Why does no one get my jokes?

8 responses to “Yesterday

  1. Catherine R.

    I say “glass slipper” by Benjamin Moore paint. That is the color I have my particular heart set on actually.

  2. redchampagne

    Ooh, that sounds pretty. I’ll have to look it up.

  3. Alyssa

    I love these games of guessing your house decorations and colors!

    I’m going to guess red. Because Mr. F seems like he’s a fan of red (I really don’t know that. I’m just guessing) anyways, I’m sure he had a say in the color, so my final answer is red.

    What do I win?

  4. redchampagne

    I’ll have to tell Mr. French that you think he likes red and see what he says.

  5. Esther

    Based on the colors in your couch and chairs, I would think a deep yellow would match nicely. I would have guessed red, too, except for your furniture. (Ha–watch, and it IS red and you’ll be annoyed I don’t think your furniture matches!)

  6. Rebekah

    Is it chocolate? or some other brown color?

  7. The Woman with the Yellow Hat

    LOL–yes, painting is sooooo like childbirth!! goober that I only tend to chk this on Wed AMs. Hmm, now I so want to visit–c’mon Dept of Defense, we need a bus trip to OH!

  8. redchampagne

    Oh well. You were probably painting!

    Hey, we’re not too far past Pittsburgh either. (hint, hint.)

Leave a Reply

