Our maple tree is aflame but my living room is not.

It's on fire!

Don’t you love fall?

You were all (all four of you, thanks for playing) good guesses. I didn’t really give you much to work with.

Since I’ve been thinking about it for well over a year, I’ve considered a whole range of colors for the living room and front hall. It’s a very open floor plan (you can see straight through the back window standing on the front stoop) and I think that makes it harder.

But Esther got it right.

Yeah, it's yellow.

The color is called “saffron”. (Sorry for the flash. It’s been overcast a lot lately. Once the crown molding is up I’ll take better pictures.)

But she was at an advantage since she’s actually been to this house.

And once more, with feeling.

My sister came in second since brown was what we painted our first house and we thought about it for this one.

If you had asked me what color I wanted my living room to be 10-12 years back, I would’ve definitely gone with red. But I’ve kind of gotten away from that lately.

The half wall you see used to be glass blocks. (Yes, the kind that are in basement windows and showers.)

But we changed that last year.

Don't fall!

No, seriously, don't fall in.

That's weird...

We think it’s an improvement.

10 Comments

Filed under Everyone's an interior designer, Moving is my hobby, Mr. French, That was fun

10 responses to “Our maple tree is aflame but my living room is not.

  1. Rebekah

    Yellow is an improvement over (is that robin’s egg blue?) whatever you had in the room to start. It looks like it will be more of a living room than a nursery. Now with all your home improvement experience, will you come and paint my living room/kitchen?

  2. redchampagne

    It was a bright blue. Darker than robin’s egg. The other side of the half wall was actually striped blue.

    Everyone always says painting is easy. “You can always re-paint” they say. It is not only hard to do physically, it’s hard to find the time, esp. with kids.

    But it does make a huge difference.

    So, what color are you thinking of for your house? (Soon I’ll show you what I painted our kitchen and bedroom.)

  3. Alyssa

    Well, it looks good even if it’s not red. And I’m assuming that Mr. F does NOT like red then? And I think getting rid of the glass block was a good idea. 🙂

  4. Esther

    Yay! I think it looks great. Really nice color. Warm and comfortable. It matches your elephants perfectly.

    Now I need to come and visit again so I can see how good it looks in person. 🙂

  5. redchampagne

    You definitely should!

  6. Crafty Mom

    I’ve seen it in person, and it looks great. So does the kitchen (I’m jealous), and the bedroom.

  7. kathy

    I doubt they still have it but a few years ago, IKEA had a really nice painting that went well with a sort of “saffron-ey” color. We used something like that in the dining room of the center where we lived in the UK. It completely changed a very ugly room into something warm and inviting. The painting was an added bonus.

  8. redchampagne

    Yeah, one problem we realized after painting, is that because a larger area is yellow, some the pictures we have sort of clash, so we might have to switch some things around. It’s amazing what the right background color does for a picture. Some of them just pop and some look terrible.

  9. Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

Leave a Reply

