How to be famous in a small town.

Mr. French was going to stop by the library anyway, so I asked him to pick up the books I had waiting at the circulation desk.

When the librarian got back with the materials she exclaimed, “Are you the man who left the message on your wife’s voice mail even though she didn’t want you to?”

“…Uh…(laughing)…yeah, that’s me.”

“Oh, that is really funny. We get such a kick out of it.”

It’s no secret that I don’t like calling people and that generally extends to leaving voice messages as well. When we were setting up our phones, a couple years ago, I kept messing up the message so I begged Mr. French to just make one for me, thinking he would say something like, “You’ve reached the phone of so-and-so. Leave a message.”

But, no.

That’s not what he says.

Instead he says something along the lines of,

“Hello, you’ve reached the voicemail box of Rachel, my wife. She doesn’t really want me to do this but she’s unwilling to leave her own message. Feel free to leave a message and she’ll get back to you, I think. Did you want to say anything, honey? (Laughing in the background.)

I don’t think it’s that funny.

4 Comments

Filed under I confess, Mr. French, This is going to be really funny one day

4 responses to “How to be famous in a small town.

  1. The Woman with the Yellow Hat

    So excited to have you back! LOL that when I read that you’re no longer using your cells as primary, I immediately thought 😦 that I won’t hear K’s great recording anymore!

  2. kathy

    I think I’d laugh, too. =)

  3. julie

    It is an outstanding message by Mr. French. Absolutely classic. Love it almost as much as we love you!

Leave a Reply

