hobby |häbē| noun ( pl. -bies) 1 an activity done regularly in one’s leisure time for pleasure

When I changed the name of my blog, Mr. French thought I was exaggerating. I didn’t know it at the time, but he told me that later, when the threat of moving had raised it’s ugly head, again.

And then he apologized and said I was amazing for what I put up with. (Yes, honey, you said it. Or something equally complementary. Although I was pregnant at the time….)

(No, you definitely said it.)

We didn’t even have to move that time. But we moved later. And then did it a couple more times just for the fun of it.*

I don’t even need to tell you how we spent last month, right?

But the question is, where did we move?

I mean, with 50 states to choose from, it’s probably going to be hard to guess.

I’ll give you a hint. We did not fly over the Pacific in our mini-van and rented U-haul trailer.

So you can cross Hawaii right off the list. And you can cross Ohio off too.

I just don’t know how in the world you’re going to figure this out.

*You know I’m kidding, right? I mean the part about “the fun of it”. I never kid about moving.

7 Comments

Filed under Moving is my hobby, Mr. French, This is going to be really funny one day, Uncategorized, Why does no one get my jokes?

7 responses to “hobby |häbē| noun ( pl. -bies) 1 an activity done regularly in one’s leisure time for pleasure

  1. alyssa

    Well, first of all I’m glad you’re back. I was getting suspicious about what was going on…

    Anyways, I guess Texas, because I think I know that’s where you went; though why, and how you move so often truly boggles my mind!

  2. redchampagne

    We have always moved for work. (Oh, except France. There’s a big exception.)

    How? easy. You put some stuff in a bag, you put the bag in a car and you drive somewhere else. Then you take the bag out of the car, take the stuff out of the bag and you just moved. 🙂

    It boggles my mind sometimes too.

  3. Julie

    we’re still holding our breath to see if this year we will be continuing our streak of having moved as many times as years we’ve been married … of course we can’t even begin to compete with your record of moving to different states (and countries)! at least 2 of our 7 moves were just around the same campus, and last year we just moved 2 towns over. i hope you get to be settled for a little while, at least. 🙂

  4. Glad you are back here! How do you like winter one day (30 degrees) and spring the very next day (65 degrees!)???? crazy. Moving was a “hobby” for my family growing up. When I married my husband I had moved as many times as I was old. He lived in the same house for the first 18 years of his life! The house we live in now we’ve lived in twice as long as any place I’ve ever lived.

  5. redchampagne

    The difference is what’s amazing. Yeah, I figure my kids will either never move as adults or they’ll be adventurous and move all the time. Or, you know, something in the middle. 🙂

    I knew you guys lived in CA, but where else did you live?

  6. Welcome to Texas! I hope you’ll have to change the name of your blog again because you’ll move into a house you love, then not need to move again for many years.

    I want Mr. F to become a permanent member of our software team. Tell him I find him amusing–and he can take that however he likes.

  7. redchampagne

    Well…we’re open. 🙂

    I mean, if moving has taught me anything, it’s to be flexible.

Leave a Reply

