Surprise!

I actually surprised Mr. French for his birthday.

If I sound triumphant, it’s because I am.

Every year, Mr. French suggests that we should have a party for him. But then remembers that many of his friends live out of town. So we never do anything. And then there was that time that I tried to surprise him for his birthday when we were first married and he guessed before we even got to the party. (I did have a pretty lame cover, but still. The disappointment lingered.)

It wasn’t easy. The funny thing is that our friends were so convinced that they’d already blown the surprise that they didn’t say much when they arrived and then we sort of half-heartedly said, oh, hey, surprise, they’re actually here for your birthday.

And he was still surprised!  So it was perfect.

Before the guests arrived (they were running late because they unexpectedly had to go out of town the next day and needed more time to pack), we started with the appetizers. I told him that the surprise was that we decorated.

Apparently, I don’t usually decorate.

But the cake was the highlight, for sure.

Isn’t that the best looking cake ever? I can’t believe how well it turned out.

Oh, wow, the close-up makes it so much better.

But then the flash went off! (The things people do in the dark when they think no one can see!)

Sort of makes me want to take back that, “best looking cake ever” comment.

Happy birthday, honey.

7 Comments

Filed under Mr. French

7 responses to “Surprise!

  1. Alyssa

    I’m so jealous!! Look at everyone in their summer clothes down there! No fair.

  2. redchampagne

    Yeah, but you can tell the “native” Texans from the non-native, right?

  3. That’s awesome. Glad the Jaroskis got to help surprise him before they had to leave town. fun memories made I’m sure!

  4. Deborah

    What kind of cake is that? looks good.

  5. redchampagne

    It’s this one: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Double-Chocolate-Torte-104512

    Mr. French says it’s the best chocolate cake he’s ever eaten.

  6. Can’t believe I missed it! Bummer…. Glad you all had a fun time! That’s the cake my family could not stop talking about. The whole way in the car 26 hours all I heard was how good Mrs. Dewells cake was for Mr. Dewells birthday. I can see why, it looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

