I had a dream…

the other night that I was painting our bedroom. About half way through the prep work, I was thinking I really wish this was done already.

What a relief when I woke up in a barely furnished beige apartment, huh?

But, actually, come to think of it, I did just paint my bedroom.

And this is how it turned out.

(Just kidding. We’ll call this before.)

This was last summer, as you can probably tell by the gentle mid-summer light streaming in from the east window and dancing off the walls. Or by Felicity’s shorter hair. It’s probably all the same.

(Those are my paint clothes, by the way. I wouldn’t normally put them on the internet but I thought you’d enjoy the contrast.)

(Of Felicity! Not my clothes. Just the contrast of Felicity’s younger self with her um, older…uhh… Oh! Hey, look! Another picture’s coming up.)

This is late at night, after the walls were primed. I stayed at the “woods house” for a week by myself with all the kids so that I could paint the bedroom. I could only paint at night and during naptime. Mr. French thought it must have been like a vacation or something.

This is after I painted but before we finished decorating.

If you’re paying attention (and I’m sure you were!) you’ll notice the seasons changed. We not fast decorators. Apparently.

Also, we should maybe think about curtains.

Someday.

That’s a new picture over our bed. We saw the original (after we obtained this print) at the Cleveland Art Museum when we went for our 10th anniversary.

I’ve had that dresser for the last 18-20 years, I think. Mr. French’s was from his grandfather. Someday, maybe we’ll get matching dressers. (I just realized that I could say the same thing for the nightstands.)

I think this is the first time that we’ve actually decorated our bedroom.

Better late than never, I say.

5 Comments

Filed under Everyone's an interior designer, Moving is my hobby, Mr. French

5 responses to “I had a dream…

  1. Esther

    I love it! Really, really nice color. It looks like it changes with the light, too, which is a plus. And the mostly black and white art goes really well.

    Too bad you’re not living there right now to enjoy it!

  2. Colleen

    Love the color! And all the art, but especially the print next to the window. 🙂

  3. redchampagne

    Colleen: Oh, man. You noticed. 🙂 I still like that picture. Mr. French surprised me with it one day a few years back.

    Let me know if you need paint consultations. I’d be happy to add my opinion to the pot. 🙂

    Esther: I am happy with the color. I made myself a little crazy picking it out and when it first went up I thought maybe I’d accidentally painted my bedroom lavender but thankfully, it does change with the light. Definitely a plus.

    And yeah, I know. It is a shame. But let’s not give up hope yet. 🙂

  4. Julie

    does your comforter have words on it? what does it say?

    and i do love the color – very calm and soothing, but not boring. =)

  5. redchampagne

    Yes, it’s an travel journal in French. Mr. French can read it, but I can’t really. It talks about things they did and what they ate and the time of year and the weather and things like that. (We got it from Garnet Hill.)

Leave a Reply

