I never thought I’d say this but…

I seem to be the only thing between diapers and a fully potty-trained little girl.

If I was a new Mom, I’d be laughing at me, thinking that my 23-month-old is ready to be potty-trained.

But I’m close to a veteran, having paid dues not once, but thrice to the “Potty-training is much harder than Diapers” club.

But now I’m dealing with something I’ve never encountered.

A toddler who cares.

“Mom.”

“What?”

“Eww.” She wrinkles her nose and points downward.

“Really? We just changed you.”

“Ewww.” She points. I check.

“No, you’re just a little wet. I think we’ll wait until after lunch.”

We both sigh, heavily.

I have no sentimental attachment to diapers, believe me. I simply remember trying to potty-train three year olds (Okay, three and a half year olds) (Fine, three and three-quarters but we’d just moved and had a baby and he still didn’t care.) who couldn’t care less. And I think I still have scars.

It’s going to be different this time. It’s going to be different this time. It’s going to be different this time.

Right?

5 Comments

Filed under Girls are not boys, I confess

5 responses to “I never thought I’d say this but…

  1. Rebekah

    Yes, it will be different this time, but mom has to be ready too.

  2. Oooh, I’m jealous. I think it’s *oddly* going to be the other way around for me. Tyler was very easy to train. Bria on the other hand, has gone in the potty on a couple of different occasions, but she’s so strong willed and determined, I’m afraid she’s going to be the one instigating it when she’s ready. And apparently, she’s not. šŸ™‚ Maybe Felcity will be your “breeze” potty training story.

  3. Jackie

    i still have scars too. scars and regrets. and i hate that something that should be so natural is so NOT! i understand your hesitation completely but here’s hoping her interest will ease the way.

    i don’t know why i don’t check your blog more often…i always love what i read. i went looking for you on fb and discovered you were gone. glad you are still blogging tho’.

  4. redchampagne

    Well, I don’t blog enough to keep people coming back everyday. Unfortunately. But it’s a nice thought.

    Yeah, I left fb and I do miss it. But I just couldn’t be halfway about it.

  5. Brenda

    I’d pick up a couple of pull-up type diapers, make a small toilet available, and she if she’s willing to do it herself. Can’t hurt…this from a mom who thinks potty-training shares the lowlight of momhood right alongside cleaning up throw-up. I had only one easy out of five!

Leave a Reply

