It’s a good thing I liked this kid before I got to know him

(I’m kidding.)

(Sort of.)

The other night:

Me: Are you sleeping with any animals?

J: Yes, my rat. I like rats. Know why? Because they eat everything and chew on things.

Me: Hmmm. That’s precisely why I don’t like rats.

______________

The other night:

F: Daddy?

Me: Daddy is at work. Actually, he’s coming home soon and then Mommy is going to work.

J: Yay!

Me: Why do you say, yay?

J: Because I like Daddy better than Mommy.

Me: Nice.

S (the peacemaking second child): I like Daddy and Mommy.

J: I like Daddy and Mommy but I like Daddy better.

Me: I think you’ve said enough.

______________

This morning:

J: It’s soooo hot out there.

Me: You’ve got that right.

J: ‘Cause it’s always hot in Texas.

Me: You’ve been talking to your father, haven’t you?

2 Comments

Filed under Boys will be boys, Mr. French, This is going to be really funny one day

2 responses to “It’s a good thing I liked this kid before I got to know him

  1. *Snort* I don’t blame my kids for liking Daddy better. He is all fun and games. Bedtime doesn’t exist in Daddy’s World. Also? Ice cream is all you can eat. Life is good in Daddy’s World. Sometimes I want to go there too.

  2. redchampagne

    Isn’t it that right.

    When I told Mr. French, he asked if I cried. “Why would I cry? You are the fun parent. I’d probably like you better too.”

Leave a Reply

