Thanksgiving this year

This year, Thanksgiving was a little underwhelming. Mr. French and I, for various reasons, were not really looking forward to it as we usually do.

I was determined to do something for the kids though. On a whim, we ordered a smoked turkey from a local restaurant. And we should have bought a pie but I’m very picky about baked goods and we didn’t do enough research to find a good one. So I made an apple crisp.

And then we made the kids do everything else.

I just chopped the celery!

I can't believe Mom is letting us use a machine! That chops things!

Uh, where are the adults?

Oh, I see. Supervising from a distance.

They show up when the big knives come out.

And the boys said it was the most fun holiday they’ve ever had. (Maybe they forgot that some holidays have presents?)

After everyone sat down with very full plates, C and J said everything was good but they just weren’t hungry anymore. And S said he was still hungry and he went on to have three helpings of everything. Felicity ate cranberry sauce and a couple of green beans.

And then we watched a movie about Henry Ford and a movie about the history of Alaska. (Because Mr. French is in charge of the Netflix queue.)

So actually, it was much better than I expected.

5 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, Boys will be boys, Mr. French, That was fun

5 responses to “Thanksgiving this year

  1. Esther

    You are one brave lady. I know your boys are older than mine, and probably have a lot more manual dexterity, but I think you officially win the Cool Mom award. πŸ™‚

    And the Netflix queue line made me laugh out loud.

  2. redchampagne

    You gotta start at some point. πŸ™‚

    If only I was kidding. (although they were both interesting.) The other night he watched a documentary by John Cleese about the face. I couldn’t even begin to make that up.

  3. Esther

    D is in charge of our Netflix queue too. Mainly it’s my fault since I never put anything on it. Lately he’s been into European crime films. Which has meant a few evenings with headphones and the laptop for him. πŸ™‚

  4. Jay

    Meek manages the list around here.
    I recently heard 25% of net use after dinnertime is streaming Netflix.

    An Alaska documentary. I might actually know one of the “stars”.
    Really. There can’t be that many documentaries about this cool state.

  5. redchampagne

    Netflix is taking over the world. They recently upped their prices so Mr. F decided to upgrade the account. Cause that makes sense.

    So, do they have those bumper stickers in Alaska like they do down here that say, “I wasn’t born in Texas but I got here as fast as I could.”?
    You should get one. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

