Skip day

(I wrote this at the beginning of Sept, but never published. You guys just have no idea how many things I write and never publish.  On that point, you should probably thank me.)

About once a week Felicity tries, and usually succeeds, at skipping  a nap.

This is not something I encourage, of course.

Today was skip day, apparently.

After yelling “Mmoooooo-em.” every five minutes for an hour, I finally went to see what the deal was.

She smiled. And then I noticed she was not in the state in which I had placed her there, an hour ago.

“What did you do?”

She looked momentarily worried, but then gingerly pointed outside her crib to everything that used to be inside the crib. Including her diaper.

And to think I was considering putting her in a regular bed soon.

7 Comments

Filed under Girls are not boys

7 responses to “Skip day

  1. She and Bria are definitely 2 peas in a pod. Though she hasn’t been successful in removing her diaper yet (no lessons on that one, Felicity!) she does like to talk herself into skipping naps…

  2. Kathy

    Elena used to do that and, if she did eventually fall asleep, inevitably peed in the bed. I got to where I’d put panties on over her diapers. She couldn’t get them off due to the bulkiness of the diaper and the problem stopped.

  3. redchampagne

    Thankfully, it was a one time thing.

    But I have heard h.o.r.r.o.r. stories about kids who did that and then ran smear campaigns. Thankfully, I’ve never had to clean one of those up.

  4. Julie

    yeah, we’re fighting through some nap strikes around here, too. molly decided she would just quit taking a nap around the time we moved, and still tries to skip one every week or so. sorry, so not happening little girl.
    i have yet to have molly get out of her diaper *in bed* or at nap time (thankfully, since she is in a regular bed), but i had to put elijah in a onesie until he was potty trained for that reason. (did you know that they even made onesies that big? they are very hard to find.) i was very, very lucky that he did not ever get out of a poopy diaper … i have nightmares about those stories.

  5. Esther

    “No one should have to clean poop out from someone else’s fingernails.”
    –my mother-in-law (who did)

  6. redchampagne

    I was thinking of Daniel when I said that. The stuff of nightmares.

  7. Woman with the Yellow Hat

    Def loving the content from the drafts folder too!

Leave a Reply

