Cautiously Optimistic

I started potty-training on Monday. I had a well-thought out plan and was extremely prepared.

On Sunday night, I realized I only had 3 diapers in the entire house and I wasn’t planning to go shopping until Thursday. So, I held my nose and jumped with both feet.

And, here we are on Saturday and I am cautiously calling it a good start. If I was the kind of person that got easily excited about things I might call it a fantastic start, but Mr. French knows I never use that word unless I’m trying to be funny.

I am struck by a few things:

If it works out, she’ll be potty trained a whole year before any of her brothers were at the same age. Not that I didn’t try.

I, who eschews all clutter and unnecessary baby equipment, will buy all manner of pink plastic potty paraphernalia in the hopes of maintaining my child’s motivation. Even when I know it will only be used for a short amount of time and go the way of most other cheap plastic things. (But you should have seen her face when she saw that pink potty.)

The first three days (five if you’re dealing with boys) are the hardest. It can actually be worse the second or third day before it gets better.

In fact, if I were to be so bold as to give a suggestion (it’s only worth what you paid for it), I would say if the first day is super-hard (10 pairs of wet underwear, anyone?) your kid might not be ready. I think with the proper praise and motivation the first day is the easiest. The next day, they’re usually over it, with nothing to show for it.

If there was one thing I wish I’d known when I tried this years ago. You can never, ever praise them enough. I don’t know if that’s what I was doing wrong, but I saw it’s effects immediately with Felicity.

In a lot of ways, it was a bad time to potty-train because we have a lot of stuff happening in the next month. But that’s the other thing I’ve learned over the years. It’s never a good time to move, get pregnant, or potty-train. So, why not do all three at once?

2 Comments

Filed under Apparently I have no shame, Girls are not boys, Oversharing, That's just gross

2 responses to “Cautiously Optimistic

  1. Julie

    yay felicity! love the pink potty stuff – i have not tried that yet. =)
    we gave it a try one day recently, but it didn’t go at all well, so we’ll try again later. i keep procrastinating, thinking that first week of week of accidents will be easier on me in our own place (hopefully the one we’re working on – it has hardwood floors in a couple of rooms downstairs!), but really, there is no perfect time. elijah was a year older than molly is too, and i’m not really in a rush, but she does sometimes go on the potty, and i think she can do it – if she wants to!

  2. Rachel

    I’m very good at procrastinating. 🙂 Although it probably will be easier with wood floors. We didn’t have as many accidents as I expected, which was nice. She’s even dry at night which I really didn’t expect. I have to say, so far, girls are easier than boys.

Leave a Reply

