Speaking of twins…

Is there a big X on my back?

Oh, nothing. I was just….curious.

Since nothing exciting has been happening around here, unless you count the fact that I cleaned out the car for the first time in 8 months and also got all the hard water deposits off of Molly’s water dish (it’s a really fascinating story if you’re interested) (Next time? With pictures?), I was going to do a little pregnancy update. And it was going to sound a little like this.

I’ve just realized that the last few weeks are probably as good as it’s going to get. I haven’t had much in the way of nausea, I haven’t had insomnia, nor am I exhausted (thanks to an iron supplement that doesn’t make me sick). I don’t have lots of pain and I can still get out of bed without rolling. I can still see my feet, my feet are not swelling and I haven’t had heartburn in over a month.

That’s what I was going to write and then, this morning, after taking my iron supplement, I felt, if not nauseated, like I was about to faint and if I didn’t lie down immediately, might die. (Which is how I feel for the first 4 months of any pregnancy, usually.) So I spent the morning sleeping on my new couch and when I finally got up, I ate a strawberry and then had the worst heartburn in, oh, say, a month?

But the good news is, I can still see my feet and they are not swelling. Yet.

Recently, some old family friends (you know the kind that you’ve known all your life?) had two sets of surprise twins. Sisters, pregnant at the same time, had twins within months of each other and neither knew until the eleventh hour. Maybe I wouldn’t think so much about this except that I’m currently pregnant.

But I would know, right? I quizzed my midwife and a friend who has had 7 kids. We’re all convinced we would know. (Of course we are.) We would at least suspect, right? Sixth sense? They probably didn’t know because it was babies #5, and #6. (Oh.) They also go to midwives and don’t get routine sonograms…so, rats. (We’d have to get a bigger car.)

Yesterday, at the dentist’s office, I met a woman admiring my children. (That’s what she said, anyway.) She was very talkative and is the first stranger to ask when I’m due. She told me she missed when her kids were younger and that she wished she’d enjoyed it more. She was originally from Baton Rouge and had come out this way after the hurricane in New Orleans. She had six kids, five boys and one girl. And two sets of twins. The first of which, she didn’t know about until she was giving birth to them.

In light of all that, I’m doing what anyone in my position would do.

I’m coming up with possible names for twins.

And just so you know, I don’t think we’d have a problem naming twins.

So, no worries.

4 Comments

Filed under She's having a baby, This is going to be really funny one day

4 responses to “Speaking of twins…

  1. And here I thought you were going to be announcing your twins. šŸ˜‰ I was paranoid (until my first appt) that I was having twins because I felt worse with this pregnancy than I did (and I already had one of each, so what else is there?) with the other 2. šŸ˜‰ Thankfully, though, God blessed us with just one. Are you actually looking pregnant now?

  2. Alyssa

    Surely you would know, because you’d be like the size of a ‘normal’ pregnant woman, right?

  3. Rachel

    I’m definitely showing. Sometimes I think I must have that problem where you don’t see your body like everyone else does, because I think it’s quite obvious but today, someone who has seen me almost every week since September, said I really looked pregnant for the first time today. I just have a hard time believing that.

    But I’ll do a picture soon.

    And, yes, I still think I would be bigger, measuring bigger, and feeling bigger if it was twins. I really think I would know. And that’s probably what they all said, right before they pulled two babies out. šŸ™‚

  4. Woman with the Yellow Hat

    Oh, get this!!!–I heard recently that the younger sister did have an ultrasound! Yeah, I really do need to write you soon!!

Leave a Reply

