I do!

Felicity asked Mr. French to play checkers with her.

She’s watched her brothers play many times. She’s even talked her brothers into playing with her. Which usually means that they play around her. She’d move a random piece and then the boys make a move based on whatever she’s done.

Not with Daddy. Daddy insisted on playing by the rules; using the correct pieces, going in the right direction, and only using the pieces that were eligible for a move.

F: I move?

Mr. F: Yes, you move.

F: Wight here?

Mr. F: No, that one is stuck. See, it can’t move.

F: This one?

Mr. F: Yes, that one can move.

She moves it to the other side of the board.

Mr. F: No, it can’t move that far. It can only move one square.

Mr. F: Okay, now you jump over my piece. Like this. See, Jump.

Felicity stands up and starts hopping in place.

F: I nump! Daddy!

Mr. F: Oh, I see. You’re jumping. Can you make your piece jump? Like this. See?

F: Wike dis?

Mr. F: Okay.

F: You move, Daddy.

Mr. F: You can’t move backwards unless you’re a queen.

F: I do!

You just can’t make up this kind of entertainment.

And in other news, J wanted to show you his new hamster.

3 Comments

Filed under Girls are not boys, Mr. French, These are the things I want to remember

3 responses to “I do!

  1. Esther

    I just thought you’d like to know that I’m totally stalking your blog to see if you’re in labor–if you don’t post for a day, I’m going to assume Baby #5 is on the way.

    No pressure, of course. πŸ˜‰

  2. Rachel

    You and all my relatives. πŸ™‚

    I don’t know how, but I knew this baby was going to be late. (I also knew it wouldn’t come on the date I wanted it to (6/16) (they never do, for me) but somehow, I still find it annoying that nothing is going on. I had a little bit of activity Tuesday and Wed. and nothing much since. It’s just weird.

  3. Colleen

    hahaha! I’m doing the exact same thing as Esther! Of course, I’m enjoying all of your posts in the meantime. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

