I think your prayers worked

‘Cause this morning I had a baby.

A BOY!

We can’t believe we have not only 5 children but 4 boys. It’s going to take a little while for it to sink in, I think.

I went to bed at midnight, woke up at two, and by the time I got up to the bathroom and back to bed, was having significant contractions. They pretty much went from 0-60 without any let-up and he was here, sunny side up at 5:25 am. I accidentally hit a midwife, kicked a midwife, bit my husband and threw up on myself. And yet they still say I was awesome.

I mean, where else can you get that kind of false praise?

What you really want to know:

9 lbs. 11 oz. (I was expecting 9 lbs but I still can’t believe he is so big.)

21 inches long

Lots of straight dark hair (I’m curious to see if he keeps it.)

Ethan Liddell D.

We’ve had Ethan on our “name list” for at least 9 or 10 years. We tend to shy away from “top ten” names but we’ve liked it for so long and it goes with the rest of the kids names so well, we just went with it. We always give our boys one Biblical name and one “namesake” name. So, he was also named after the Olympic athlete and missionary to China, Eric Liddell.

He looks a lot like the other boys when they were babies.

She wasn’t sure in the beginning what she thought of him. Tonight she brought him all her babies.

We haven’t gotten any family shots but I think we’ll try that tomorrow, after a bath.

At one point this morning, J looked at me and said, “Mom. You’re not pregnant anymore.”

“I know.” I said. “Isn’t it wonderful?”

13 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, She's having a baby, These are the things I want to remember

13 responses to “I think your prayers worked

  1. Abigail

    Congratulations again! He looks big! And very content. I wish I could stop by and see him. 🙂 Did you hear that he had a third cousin born the same day?

  2. Joy

    Congratulations! So excited for you all!

  3. Colleen

    HOORAY!!! He’s here! Congratulations, Rachel – he’s a beautiful boy. Big guy, too! Oh, and not that my opinion really matters, but I think that’s an awesome name. Glad you’re not pregnant anymore. Take care, get some rest, and enjoy your newest blessing.

  4. Congratulations, Rachel! So glad “little” Ethan arrived safe and sound. Hope you can get some rest now and feel more comfortable that you aren’t pregnant anymore. Going past due dates is always hard…Glad he wasn’t TOO late. 🙂 I too, have to agree with my sister and say that his name is wonderful! 🙂

  5. Sue

    SO happy for you! It’s over (and just beginning all at the same time)!
    I love the picture of big sister with her beautiful smile.
    Blessings to y’all!

  6. Jackie

    congratulations, rachel!

  7. kathy

    Just wanted to leave my congratulations as well! A lovely little/big guy. I agree, he looks so content and I hope he stays a contented baby. So glad you aren’t pregnant anymore! Lovely comment, very observant of J. By the way, I hope your feet are going back to a normal size.

  8. Alyssa

    Yay! I’m so excited! But I am surprised that you had another boy… I was just sure it would be a girl. And so big! Wow! I’m glad your done being pregnant and on to the fun newborn stage!

  9. Maranatha

    Congratulations. We are so happy for you!
    My mom told us on Sunday. She said he was 9lbs 11 oz first and then his name. I said, “so that’s not ‘Little’ after Stewart Little then.” Then she laughed and was quick to inform me.
    Hope those family pictures work well. I wish I could give Ethan a hug and kiss, but I bet he is not lacking in that department.

  10. Brenda

    Very happy for you all!

  11. Julie

    hooray! congratulations to all of you! i hope you’re all adjusting well (felicity especially!) and getting some rest. he is beautiful!

  12. Jenn Nusbaum

    Awe! Congratulations! So sweet!

  13. Congratulations! Ethan is a great name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

