Daddy is actually older, okay?

Daddy asked who’s turn it was to do the dishes.

An argument ensued.

“You know guys,” I said. “you have it easy. You have a dishwasher. I grew up without a dishwasher. We had to wash every dish by hand.”

Mouths dropped open.

“Really?”

“Yes, I also grew up without air conditioning,” I said, clearly on a roll. “and I was 9 years old before we got a color T.V..”

What?! Were you like born in the 60s? Or like a really long time ago?”

“No, my parents just believed in deprivation, apparently.” I said, “Actually, it’s because I grew up on a farm and it just wasn’t there. It wasn’t even a matter of money.”

“Did you even have electricity?”

“Uh, yeah, we did have electricity. Now do the dishes.”

2 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, Mr. French, These are the things I want to remember

2 responses to “Daddy is actually older, okay?

  1. Mom

    I was trying to remember why we came up with a color TV when you were nine. Your elder sister reminded me that the office gave it to Dad when he became a full partner the year after we moved to KS. Sure wasn’t ’cause he bought it! You can tell them that I still don’t have a dishwasher and have to do every dish by hand. But I don’t have to carry water from the creek, use an outhouse, or collect cow chips for fuel.

Leave a Reply

