So that I don’t have to change the name of my blog to “Look how big my baby is”

Shall we talk about Felicity?

She has slightly altered the names she calls her brothers.

There is “Talvin”, the artist formerly known as “Volvo”.

Then “Yes”, formerly of the moniker, “Ya”.

And “Manet” is still just “Manet”.

The new kid in town has two names according to Felicity.

He goes by “Baby boy” and “Ennis”.

She refers to herself as “Iddy”.

When she wants someone to tuck her into bed she says, “Come night-night me.”

And once when we were out walking, she got left behind a little bit and she came running up, “Mom! You bye-bye me!”

When she’s finished with her food she proclaims, “I wished.”

And have I told you that she has basically regressed in her potty-training? It started before Ethan arrived but no amount of shaming (“only babies go potty in their pants”) or bribing (Stickers, candy, new necklace) have helped for more than a day. But I refuse to use diapers so she changes her clothes multiple times a day.

Which, now that I think about it, might very well be the whole point.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Aren't my kids funny?, Girls are not boys, These are the things I want to remember

8 responses to “So that I don’t have to change the name of my blog to “Look how big my baby is”

  1. Abigail

    Well, you can only regress if you’ve already made progress, so she’s doing better than Isabelle. πŸ™‚

    • Rachel

      Good point. Although I still sort of wish I’d waited. But she did so well at the beginning. I don’t know. It’s never easy.

  2. Kathy

    She is a girl, after all. I used to lock Elena’s cupboard (with a padlock) because she would change clothes at least 5 times a day, and she had no excuse, except that she is a girl and that’s the way girls work, I guess. I don’t remember that part of my life… She liked it when I went to the 2nd hand market and bought the gaudiest dresses I could find and she could change into anytime she desired. Now she’s a month from turning 13 (going on 20) and is waaaaay too cool for such things!

    • Rachel

      I used to keep them hung up high but then I kept finding broken hangers on the ground and I realized it was because she was pulling them down. So I moved them. I should probably get her some dress-up clothes. That’s a good idea.

  3. Rebekah

    Hey, if it is changing clothes that she likes so much, I could send her some doll clothes. I somehow ended up what a great big bag from our childhood.

  4. Rachel

    Sure, if your girls don’t want them.

  5. This post seems the best place to leave my comments from FEB 2012.
    Maybe you really should consider changing the name of your blog.
    I mean, it HAS been a while since the last move. It seems your hobbies are changing — not that I’m complaining, don’t get me wrong — but your children seem to be the theme even over France, Texas, the weather, and the strewn addresses of yesteryear….

    In common parlance, “just saying……”

Leave a Reply

