Sushi, it is

All my boys like to eat.

Full stop.

Okay, there’s a but.

But, S is the only one who will eat anything. Full stop.

He’s always hungry and he’s always willing to try whatever it is you’re making. At one point he was keeping track of all the different meats he’s ever had, so he could add more to the list.

He reminds me of my brother, actually. My brother would pretty much eat anything and he especially enjoyed eating whatever would gross his sisters out the most. (It was just three girls and him). For the record there isn’t anything even remotely girly about my squirrel-skinning, dumpster-diving, probably roadkill eating brother. (I might have made up one of those.)

Anyway, when he was my boys’ age, my Grandpa would take us all out to one of those midwestern all-you-can-eat places, just to watch him eat. He’d get such a kick out of my brother piling his plate high, over and over and over. I didn’t really understand until recently, how much fun it is to feed people who enjoy eating.

And, here comes the point. S and I took a sushi class last night.

We both enjoyed it. It was actually much easier than it looks. I think we’ll definitely be trying it at home sometime soon.

Anyone up for an inside out spicy tuna roll? (That was our favorite.)

3 Comments

Filed under Boys will be boys

3 responses to “Sushi, it is

  1. Rebekah

    “For the record there isn’t anything even remotely girly about my squirrel-skinning, dumpster-diving, probably roadkill eating brother. (I might have made up one of those.)”

    Well…let’s see…I don’t think you did. I know he eats squirrel and feeds it to his family. In college he was well known for his dumpster diving finds and I know for a fact that he has eaten roadkill because he served it to his future brother-in-law and me. πŸ™‚

  2. Rachel

    We make him sound like such a catch. πŸ™‚
    It’s amazing that he found just a cool wife.

  3. Rebekah

    Last week I read an article about a chief that claimed that squirrel is the best meat of the forest. She compared it to acorn fed Spanish pigs whose meat is highly prized because of its diet. Of course, these hams have a hefty price tag of $200 a pound. Squirrel is a lot cheaper and more accessible to Americans! http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2012/01/22/why-eat-squirrel-really/

    PS Sam’s a good guy and the Lord has blessed him a good wife who appreciates his hunting adventures. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

