To the dinosaurs we go…

So, as I alluded in my last post, we went out of town for the weekend and saw some dinosaurs. Kind of.

First, we went to the Dinosaur Valley State Park, in Glen Rose. Thankfully, we have a state park pass and so we didn’t have to pay to get in just to take a damp picture near the dinosaur statutes. There was just too much rain and water to see the dinosaur footprints in the riverbed. I got to see the footprints on a family vacation as a kid and it made an big impression on me. I was probably the most disappointed by not getting to see them, since no one else knew what they were missing. After that, we went to the Creation Evidence Museum down the road.

(Sorry, all my pictures are from my phone so none are that great.)

It was much bigger than when I was a kid but I’d forgotten some of the cool artifacts that they have. The kids and Mr. French enjoyed that and the kids were talking about “the dinosaur museum” for several days afterwards, so I think they enjoyed it.

Doesn’t he look like he’s about to walk here?

Incidentally, this is how he likes to take baths too. I tell him this is the worst way to take a bath and he just looks at me and stands up.

Betcha can’t guess what we did while the other, more interested people in our party toured the museum.

Yeah, we could go on with the pictures but I’ll spare you.

I did look at everything but had to go a little faster because of the baby, so we found our own entertainment.

Then we drove two hours to the other side of Texas Dallas, to the main reason we left home. Some friends had invited us to visit their church and stay in a friend’s guest house/lake cabin. It was so cute!

I thought about pretending this was the new house we’re moving to, but decided you would be on to me.

This was the view. (I figured this would be the tip off that this isn’t in San Antonio.)

Pretty, isn’t it?

We tried to get a picture of everyone looking.

But Ethan is a hard dude to turn around.

(Sometimes I look around and think, “Ok. I’m outnumbered but at least I’m still taller than everyone.”)

(I’m gonna need something new to tell myself soon.)

And for my Mom and anyone else who likes to oogle kitchens. (Again with the pictures not doing it justice.)

I have the picture of the perfect kitchen in my mind (Okay, and on Houzz.com and pinterest) and this kitchen isn’t among them, but I loved this kitchen. It was so warm and inviting. I loved everything about it.

Maybe I’m easy to please? (Mr. French is not allowed to comment.)

I have a few more pictures of the cabin to show you, which I’ll do in the next post-ish.

And I still have to tell you about our little detour on the way home.

3 Comments

Filed under Boys will be boys, Moving is my hobby, Pictures worth a thousand words, Playing the Tourist

3 responses to “To the dinosaurs we go…

  1. Woman with the Yellow Hat

    Yes, I’m on now too (assuming you follow b/c you just rec’d a notification)! Look forward to hearing about the detour!

  2. Jessica

    Ohhh… I heard from Ricardo and then Crystal that y’all were up that way. Can’t (okay, I can) believe you’re moving again!

  3. Pingback: Guess who just turned 10? | Can moving be a hobby?

Leave a Reply

